Mac OS X USB-UIRT interface application

Interested in integrating USB-UIRT support into an application? Look here!

Moderator: jrhees

Mac OS X USB-UIRT interface application

Postby xyster » Mon Sep 12, 2005 7:12 am

I've written a small app, ribsu, that facilitates interfacing with USB-UIRT on the Mac.
It currently supports UIR, basic RAW/RAW2 learning and has rudimentary Pronto code support. This is mostly a release to see that it runs on machines other than mine. At some point, after some input on how to do it, I would like to release an API.
Please test and let me know how it behaves for you.

Thanks!
xyster

ribsu feedback

Postby JcMarin » Tue Sep 13, 2005 4:17 am

OK so I have downloaded and tested ribsu

First of all, let me tell you I'm not a developer so my feedback will be limited to confirming it runs and basic functionality. Also if i state somenthing thats obvious or plain stupid I escuse myself by just arguing ingonornace :D

My Setup:
Mac Mini rev-b
1.42 Ghz G4
512 Ram
Running Tiger (Mac OS X 10.4.2)

I Connected USB-UIRT and checked to make sure the USB port saw it.
I ran ribsu in Terminal and tested a couple of the commands

20 UIR
Everythin OK tested a couple of IR Signals and got back 6 Byte codes OK

21 RAW
tested a couple of IR signals and got 36 codes back, copied and pasted and codes were sent out OK.

If I leave button pressed on remote the reapeating 36 code is one more shorter that original (guess its a repeat code) whch alone will do nothing if pasted back.

I did manage to paste garbage a couple of times :? and got the eror codes 80 or 81 back.

24 RAW2
Nothing happens with this mode, did not react to any codes I tested from remote. Is RAW2 supposed to react just to certain protocols?

First time I tried quiting I typed quit instead of just Q and USB-UIRT got stock with led ON all the time, I just unpluged and plugen again and evrything back to normal.