Help! infared not connecting to cable box

Having problems? Use this forum to find help!

Moderator: jrhees

Help! infared not connecting to cable box

Postby Mary Jo » Mon Dec 06, 2004 8:01 pm

I am new to all of this, and I need help! I have computer in a room next to living room where my TV is and I have a cable box on the TV. I have a usb-uirt ir blaster and I have a firefly remote for the PC. I am wanting to watch movies that I download from the internet and also home movies and pictures. The signal isn't strong enough I guess?????? What can I do?
Mary Jo

Postby jrhees » Tue Dec 07, 2004 12:42 am

mary Jo,

I assume you are trying to use the USB-UIRT to switch channels on your cable box, correct? If so, what software are you using (Girder, Sage TV, Snapstream, etc) to run the USB-UIRT?

The USB-UIRT emits Infrared signals, which, similar to your other Infrared remote controls, cannot travel through walls.

-Jon
jrhees
Site Admin

Postby Mary Jo » Tue Dec 07, 2004 4:24 am

Thanks for responding! The USB program I am using is girder. I also signed up for Beyond TV and Beyond Media with Snapstream with the Firefly remote. I have Windows Media 10 all on a Dell desktop PC. Wanting to download movies and be able to watch them on the TV in the room next door. There is a door from where my PC is to where the TV is though. Am I supposed to have something hooked up to the cable box on the TV to recieve other than the cable box itself? I have a Firefly infared PC Remote also. I tried holding the USB and point towards the TV, but it didn't do anything! Thanks again for your help! [color=blue][/color]
Mary Jo

Postby jrhees » Tue Dec 07, 2004 2:05 pm

Mary Jo,